APFA, forerunner of the NFL. The greatest game demands distinction. You're covered.

Item Description

American Professional Football Association, 1920 - 1921

Embroidered cotton twill ballcap, two-tone khaki bill with a black crown, velcro adjustable. 

Free Shipping.                                                                           


An original for the original league that became the NFL.

The American Professional Football Association  formed in 1920 with 14 teams. Several teams sputtered and collapsed almost immediately, the business model untenable in an era when pro football was given little credence -- in or out of sport.

When the league expanded in 1922 to 18 teams, driving force George Halas thought the APFA name too long, so he coined National Football League. (Halas also renamed his Chicago Staleys the Bears, making it three names in three years for this enduring franchise.)

Making football into an ongoing commercial enterprise proved elusive and by 1930, just two of the original teams were still in operation. One was the Bears, of course, which morphed out of the Staleys. Along with the other enduring NFL team (Apparel Shop!) founding the American Professional Football Association, the establishment in 1920 is deemed 'year one' in league history. 

Dynamic ballcap, the ultimate in gridiron heritage wear.

» Share: